Get Adobe Flash player

Booz Allen Hamilton, Financial Times, Direct Edge, BATS Exchange, and the McDonough School of Business Center for Financial Markets and Policy present keynotes and panel discussions on the Flash Crash: One Year Later.


Preliminary Agenda
1:00-1:30 p.m. Registration

1:30-2:00 p.m. Opening Remarks: Reena Aggarwal, Robert E. McDonough Professor of Business Administration and Finance and Director, Center for Financial Markets and Policy

Keynote Address: Bryan Durkin, Chief Operating Officer, The CME Group

2:00-3:30 p.m. Panel 1: Is the U.S. Market Structure Flawed? If So, What Should We Do About It?

Moderator: Aline van Duyn, US Markets Editor, Financial Times
Chris Isaacson, Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, BATS Exchange
Vlad Khandros, Corporate Strategy, Liquidnet
Albert “Pete” Kyle, Charles E. Smith Chair Professor of Finance, University of Maryland
Joe Mecane, Executive Vice President and Co-Head of U.S. Listing and Cash Execution, NYSE Euronext
David Shillman, Associate Director, Division of Trading and Markets, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

3:30-4:00 p.m. Break

4:00-5:15 p.m. Panel 2: What Can Be Done to Protect Against the Next Flash Crash?

Moderator: Tim Hall, Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton
James J. Angel, Associate Professor of Finance, McDonough School of Business
Frank M. Hatheway, Chief Economist and Senior Vice President, NASDAQ OMX Group
Eric Hess, General Counsel, Direct Edge
Christine Holzem, Vice President, NISA, Federal Reserve Banks National IT

5:15-5:45 p.m. Keynote Address: Kathleen L. Casey, Commissioner, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

6:00-7:00 p.m. Reception

For the full agenda, visit:

Leave a Reply